IASCLUB PIB News Summary : 11 September 2019

Spread the love

100 Days Achievement of Ministry of Civil Aviation

Ministry of Civil aviation has undertaken many initiatives in the past 100 days in the direction of enabling affordable flying and healthy aviation sector growth.

Some of the key initiatives are-

  • India’s tallest Air Traffic Control tower was inaugurated at the Indira Gandhi International Airport which will ensure up-scaled services and systems for efficient, smooth and uninterrupted air traffic management.
  • The airports of Ahmedabad, Lucknow and Mangaluru have been awarded to a private concessionaire through Public Private Partnership (PPP) to bring efficiency in delivery, expertise, enterprise and professionalism apart from harnessing the needed investments in the public sector.
  • ‘Aviation Jobs’ is a unique web-based portal launched, which seeks to bring together job seekers and prospective employers in the Indian civil aviation sector. It is a common platform for enabling candidates to register their job interests across various sub-sectors. At the same time it facilitates sourcing of information about candidates available in the market by prospective employers with a view to improve prospects for employment or re-employment in the civil aviation ecosystem
  • 34 routes have been operationalized, awarded under round 1, 2 and 3 / Tourism RCS. These 34 RCS routes provide connectivity to 4 unserved (Jharsuguda, Mysore, Kolhapur and Jalgaon) and 4 underserved (Gwalior, Belgaum, Durgapur and Shillong) airports connecting 10 served (Raipur, Bhubaneswar, Kolkata, Bangalore, Mumbai, Hyderabad, Goa, Kochi, Rajahmundry and Vizag) airports under the scheme.
  • As part of Digital initiatives the Ministry has taken up
  • eDGCA project conceptualized to completely automate the processes and functions of DGCA and its constituent directorates as well as to provide a strong base for IT infrastructure and service delivery framework. The work on development of various modules including licensing of pilots is under progress.
  • DigiSky– an online portal to regulate the entire gamut of activities relating to governance and operation of Remotely Piloted Aircraft System (RPAS)/Unmanned Aircraft Vehicles (UAVs)/drones has been made operational. While ensuring safety and security in drone operations, it will also help in promotion of drone technologies.
  • Esahaj-100% of security clearances pertaining to the Ministry have been made online on Esahaj online portal launched by the Ministry of Civil Aviation. The portal is operational for granting clearances in respect of 24 categories.
  • DigiYatra Trial for rollout of DigiYatra initiative has been started at Bangalore and Hyderabad airports. The initiative envisages seamless and hassle free passenger travel using biometric technologies to improve passenger experience, reduce queue waiting time as passengers can walk through e-gates by using advanced security solutions. It will remove redundancies at check points and enhance resource utilization.
  • Passenger Service Fee (PSF) now called Aviation Security Fee (ASF) charged as part of passenger fare and collected by the airlines which is deposited in the escrow account of respective JVs or AAI account has been rationalized and a National Trust has been created to pool all the ASF collections across airports. The trust is to be managed by AAI. The collection of PSF(SC)/ASF in a single pool account will serve the purpose of cross subsidizing the smaller airports of AAI with low PSF(SC)/ASF collection thus bridging the funding gap.
  • Recognizing India’s progress in resolving its safety oversight deficiencies and improving the Effective Implementation (EI), International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO) has announced a Council President Certificate to India which would be presented during a special ceremony at ICAO headquarters, Montreal during the 40th Session of the Assembly.

NCST Writes to Union Home Minister & Union Tribal Affairs Minister Conveying Its recommendation to Include Union Territory of Ladakh Under 6th Schedule of Constitution Of India

The 119th meeting of the National Commission for Scheduled Tribes was held on 11th September, 2019 to deliberate the issue of inclusion of UT of Ladakh under Fifth/Sixth Schedule of the Constitution of India.

More in news:

  • At the outset, the full Commission welcomed the Jammu and Kashmir Reorganisation Act 2019 thereby creating the Union Territory of Ladakh comprising of Kargil and Leh districts.  The Commission feels that this will immensely help in meeting the cherished aspirations of the tribal people in Ladakh region.
  • The issue was earlier discussed in the 118th Meeting of the Commission held on 27th August, 2019.  This was followed by further consultation with the Ministries of Home Affairs, Tribal Affairs and Law & Justice in a meeting held on 4th September, 2019.
  • The Commission took note of the fact that the newly created Union Territory of Ladakh is predominantly a tribal region in the country. The Scheduled Tribe population represent 66.8 percent in Leh, 73.35 percent in Nubra, 97.05 percent in Khalsti, 83.49 per cent in Kargil, 89.96 per cent in Sanku and 99.16 per cent in Zanskar areas of the Ladakh region.

The region is inhabited by following Scheduled Tribes, namely:

  1. Balti
  2. Beda
  • Bot, Boto
  1. Brokpa, Drokpa, Dard, Shin
  2. Changpa
  3. Garra
  • Mon
  • The Commission noted that prior to creation of Union Territory of Ladakh, people in Ladakh region had certain agrarian rights including right on land which restricted people from other parts of the country to purchase or acquire land in Ladakh.  Similarly, the Ladakh region has several distinct cultural heritages by communities such as Drokpa, Balti and Changpa, among others, which needs to be preserved and promoted.
  • The Commission after careful consideration, recommends that the Union Territory of Ladakh be brought under the Sixth Schedule of the Constitution.  The Commission feels that this will help in:
  1. Democratic devolution of powers;
  2. Preserve and promote distinct culture of the region.
  • Protect agrarian rights including rights on land
  1. Enhance transfer of funds for speedy development of Ladakh region.


100total visits,1visits today